

AITKIN COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

November 26, 2024 9:00 a.m. Government Center Board Room

Regular Session Minutes

1.A CALL TO ORDER

Chair Wedel called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Attendee Name	Title	Status		
J. Mark Wedel	District #1	Present		
Laurie Westerlund	District #2	Present		
Travis Leiviska	District #3	Present		
Bret Sample	District #4	Present		
Michael Kearney	District #5	Present		
Jessica Seibert	County Administrator	Present		
April Kellerman	Administrative Assistant	Present		

1.B PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

1.C APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion to: Approve the agenda.

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

- 1.D Health & Human Services (see separate HHS Agenda)
- 1.E Citizens Public Comment None

2 CONSENT AGENDA

Motion to: Approve the Consent Agenda.

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)
MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska
SECONDER: Commissioner Bret Sample

A) Correspondence File-

November 12, 2024 - November 25, 2024

B) Approve County Board Minutes-

November 12, 2024

C) Approve Electronic Funds Transfers

Total \$1,154,194.78

D) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

ELAN 10.24.24

General \$3,728.64 Forest \$462.25 HHS \$2,632.57 **Total** \$6,823.46

E) Adopt Resolution-

Application for Temp On Sale Liquor License - Wealthwood Rod & Gun Club

F) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Auditor Warrants - Sales/Use and Diesel Tax, October 2024

General \$160.24	R&B \$1,352.97	Trust \$116.98	Forest \$9.63
LLCC \$173.73	Parks \$407.97		Total \$2,221.52

G) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Auditor Warrants - R&B Contracts 11.08.24

- 1	DeD 0044 200 00			T-4-1	£044 000 00
- 1	R&BI\$244.369.88			I Totali	\$244.369.88 l

H) Approve-

2024 Audit Agreement

I) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

Manual Warrants 11.15.24

General \$1,428.97	State \$183,109.75	Taxes \$591.00	LLCC \$115.36	
			Total \$185,245.08	

J) Adopt Resolution-

LG214 Premises Permit - The Confidence Learning Center

K) Approve-

JPA with Farm Island Township

L) Approve-

JPA with Glen Township

M) Approve-

JPA with Macville Township

N) Approve-

JPA with Nordland Township

O) Approve-

JPA with City of Tamarack

P) Approve-

JPA with Morrison Township

Q) Approve-

JPA Wealthwood Township

R) Approve-

JPA with Waukenabo Township

S) Approve-

JPA with Spencer Township

T) Adopt Resolution-

LG214 Premises Permit - The Palisade Super Sledders

U) Approve-

Opioid Funding Request

V) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Period 2 Tax Settlements

Townships \$ 3,652,010.01	Total \$ 3,652,010.01
---------------------------	------------------------------

W) Approve-

Aitkin County Boarding Joint Powers Agreement

X) Approve-

Appointment as Deputy Registrar

Y) Approve-

University of MN, Extension Agreement

Z) Approve-

Board Ratification - Mobile Assessor Software

AA) Adopt Resolution-

Sponsorship Resolution for City of Aitkin AT Project

AB) Approve Commissioner's Vouchers

Commissioner Warrants 11.22.24

General	\$138,313.73	Reserves	\$108.29	R&B	\$43,344.48	HHS	\$69,110.04
State	\$7,884.83	Trust	\$10,754.47	Forest	\$7,146.13	Taxes	\$2,159.63
LLCC	\$11,907.56	Parks	\$21,055.32	Opioid	\$7,696.65	Total	\$319,481.13

Regular Agenda

3A Janet Smude - Aitkin County SWCD District Manager

Motion to:

Adopt Resolution - Implementation of the Upper Mississippi-Grand Rapids CWMP

RESULT:

APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Michael Kearney

SECONDER:

Commissioner Bret Sample

Dennis Thompson - Land Commissioner Public Hearing - Land Classification **PUBLIC HEARING:** Open: 10:19 a.m. Public Comment: None Closed: 10:20 a.m. Dennis Thompson - Land Commissioner **4B** Motion to: Adopt Resolution - 2024 Land Classification RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0) Commissioner Michael Kearney MOVER: SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund 5A Jessica Seibert – County Administrator Informational Only Northland Reliability Project Presentation RESULT: INFORMATIONAL ONLY MOVER: SECONDER: Jessica Seibert - County Administrator 5B Motion to: Approve McGregor Airport Agreement - Bill Bedor **RESULT:** APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney 5C Jessica Seibert - County Administrator Motion to: Approve 2025 Legislative Priorities RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska Mike Dangers - County Assessor 6A Motion to: Approve Individual Disaster Abatements and Credits APPROVED (5 TO 0) RESULT: MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund 7A Andrew Carlstrom - Environmental Services Director Motion to: Petition to Deny EAW - Meadow View Lots at Barnacles Resort RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Michael Kearney SECONDER: Commissioner Bret Sample Andrew Carlstrom - Environmental Services Director **7B** Motion to: Approve Meadow View Lots at Barnacles Resort RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska John Welle - County Engineer 88 Motion to: Adopt Resolution - Award Contract 20253 RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

SECONDER:

Commissioner Bret Sample

Commissioner Michael Kearney

8B John Welle - County Engineer Motion to: Adopt Resolution - Award Contract 20254 APPROVED (5 TO 0) RESULT: MOVER: Commissioner Michael Kearney SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska 8C John Welle - County Engineer Informational Only 2024 Highway Contract Summary - Discussion Only **RESULT: INFORMATIONAL ONLY** MOVER: SECONDER: 9A Bobbie Danielson - Human Resources Director Motion to: Approve 2025-2027 AFSCME HHS Unit Agreement RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska 9B Bobbie Danielson - Human Resources Director Motion to: Approve 2025-2027 AFSCME Courthouse Unit Agreement **RESULT:** APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund 9C Bobbie Danielson - Human Resources Director Motion to: Approve Personnel Policy Updates **RESULT:** APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska Jessica Seibert - County Administrator 10A Motion to: Adopt Resolution - County Auditor Public Hearing RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney December 17th at 5:00 p.m. at the Aitkin County Government Center Board Room Jessica Seibert - County Administrator 10B Informational Only Appropriations Review - Direction Requested **RESULT:** INFORMATIONAL ONLY MOVER: SECONDER: 10C Jessica Seibert - County Administrator Informational Only Elected Officials 2025 Salaries - Discussion Only RESULT: INFORMATIONAL ONLY MOVER: SECONDER: 10D Jessica Seibert - County Administrator Informational Only 2025 Commissioner Salary - Discussion Only RESULT: INFORMATIONAL ONLY MOVER: SECONDER:

10E Jessica Seibert - County Administrator

Administrator Updates

CRPD Nursing Home webinar, Pathways discussion, MACA Executive Committee, CLA FEMA Audit, MN Department of Revenue Tax meeting, Committee of the Whole meeting, Budget Committee

11A **Board of Commissioners**

Committee Reports

MN Department of Revenue Tax meeting, Committee of the Whole meeting, Joint Powers Natural Resources Board, Arrowhead Counties Association, Budget Committee, ATV Committee, Personnel Committee, Facilities, Aitkin County Water Planning Task Force, Towards Zero Deaths, Aitkin Airport Commission

Motion to Adjourn

Motion made at 12:58 p.m.

MOVER:

Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

SECONDER:

Commissioner Travis Leiviska

Next Meeting:

Tuesday, December 17, 2024

Jessica Seibert County Administrator

J. Mark Wedel, Board Chair Aitkin County Board of Commissioner